Still time to enter school board races

Persons interested in running for a local school board still have until 5 p.m. Aug. 6 to pick-up and return candidate packets. All local school boards have at least one seat up for election.

Mingus Union High School District has a five-member board with three seats up for re-election. Incumbents Bryan Detwiler (board president), Scott Stokes and Tom Parmarter all have their terms ending. So far, only Parmarter has taken out an election packet. But five candidates are running for the three available seats.

In an earlier interview, Stokes said this was going to be a difficult decision for him. He has not taken out an election packet.

The four challenging candidates are Ronald Agoglia, Rodney Fielitz, Mark Miskiel and Brenda Zenan.

Zenan and Agoglia both had their positions at Mingus Union eliminated by the school board. Agoglia was a parking lot attendant, and Zenan was a guidance secretary. Agoglia has been outspoken during recent board meetings, challenging the board that his dismissal was not handled according to the district's policies.

Candidate petitions for MUHS require 85 signatures; Cottonwood-Oak Creek requires 74 signatures, and Clarkdale-Jerome requires 12 signatures.

"That is the minimum required," said Robin Bascom of the Yavapai County Superintendent's Office. "So we ask that they turn in more signatures in case some are not registered voters."

Bascom said petition signers must be registered to vote within the district that they are signing a petition for.

Clarkdale-Jerome School District has three members, with one of those seats up for reelection. Incumbent Jane Phillips is the only candidate to file for her seat. She has completed all of the candidate requirements, including filing her signature petitions.

Cottonwood-Oak Creek School District is a five-member board with two seats up for reelection. Incumbent Board President Randall Garrison and incumbent board member Eric Wyles have both filed, but as of Tuesday had not turned in signature petitions.

The only challenger for the C-OC board is Celestia Ziemkowski, business manager for the Valley Academy of Career and Technology Education.

"I'm still working on getting signatures," Ziemkowski said on Tuesday.

The Valley Academy of Career and Technology Education has five board members with two seats up for reelection. Incumbents Pearl Lansing, representing Camp Verde School District, and Mike Westcott, representing Clarkdale-Jerome District, have indicated they will not run for re-election.

Only one election packet has been picked up for the VACTE board. Steven Gresham has taken out a packet to run for the Camp Verde seat on VACTE.

The Yavapai College Board of Governors has an open seat for District 4. Challenger Charles Leon has filed for Incumbent Donna Michaels' seat. Michaels is not running for reelection.

Incumbent Herald Harrington's seat in District 5, which represents Clarkdale, Cottonwood, Jerome and Cornville on the college board, is not up for election until 2010. Incumbent Patricia McCarver has filed for reelection in District 1, and incumbent Dale Fitzner has filed to keep his seat in District 2.

Anyone interested in running for any school board seat should contact Robin Bascom in the Yavapai County Education Service Agency at 928-442-5138 or 1015 Fair St. #324, Prescott.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.