Candidate slate finalized for statewide August primary

PHOENIX -- Arizona voters will have plenty of choices when they go to the polls this summer.

The final list of candidates for the party primaries shows there will be contested races for many of the seats. That foretells a lot of campaigning for the votes of registered Democrats, Republicans and Libertarians.

But independents play a role in the choices, too: Under state law, they are free to choose to participate in either the Republican or Democratic primaries. But the Libertarians successfully sued to keep their primary closed, limited only to those who are registered members of their party.

The final list produced a number of late surprises.

One is that there is going to be an active race among Democrats for who gets to face off against the survivor in the Republican fight between incumbent John McCain and challenger J.D. Hayworth for the U.S. Senate.

Until recently, Rodney Glassman, who quit his seat on the Tucson city council, had been the lone contender in the race. But former state legislator Cathy Eden, who also was state health director, also has jumped into the race, as well as former Phoenix New Times reporter John Dougherty and Phoenix resident Randy Parraz.

And four Libertarians are going to fight it out for the right to represent the party in the November gubernatorial race.

But some primary races are pretty much already decided, with only one person seeking a state Senate seat or two seeking the two House seats in each district.

In fact, in a few districts, the entire election already is over: Only candidates from one party filed nominating papers. The only thing that could change that is a write-in campaign after the primary.

U.S. Senate


John Dougherty (Phoenix)

Cathy Eden (Phoenix)

Rodney Glassman (Tucson)

Randy Parraz (Phoenix)


Jerry Joslyn (Scottsdale)


David Nolan (Tucson)


Jim Deakin (Phoenix)

J.D. Hayworth (Scottsdale)

*John McCain (Phoenix)

CD 1:


* Ann Kirkpatrick (Flagstaff)


Bradley Beauchamp (Globe)

Russell Bowers (Superior)

Paul Burton (Page)

Paul Gosar (Flagstaff)

Sydney Hay (Munds Park)

Joe Jaraczewski (Cottonwood)

Jon Jensen (Prescott Valley)

Steve Mehta (Show Low)

Thomas Zaleski (Sedona)



Terry Goddard (Phoenix)


Larry Gist (Tempe)


Ronald Cavanaugh (Springerville)

Barry Hess (Glendale)

Bruce Olsen (Overgaard)

Alvin Yount (Prescott Valley)


* Jan Brewer (Glendale)

Tom Gordon (Mesa)

Matthew Jette (Apache Junction)

Dean Martin (Phoenix)

Owen Mills (Paulden)

John Munger (Tucson)

Secretary of State:


Chris Deschene (Window Rock)

Sam Wercinski (Paradise Valley)


* Ken Bennett (Gilbert)

Attorney General:


David Lujan (Phoenix)

Vince Rabago (Tucson)

Felecia Rotellini (Phoenix)


Tom Horne (Phoenix)

Andrew Thomas (Phoenix)



Andrei Cherny (Phoenix)


Ted Carpenter (Florence)

Doug Ducey (Paradise Valley)

Barbara Leff (Paradise Valley)

Thayer Verschoor (Gilbert)

Superintendent of Public Instruction:


Penny Kotterman (Phoenix)

Jason Williams (Phoenix)


Margaret Dugan (Phoenix)

John Huppenthal (Chandler)

Beth Price (Casa Grande)

State Mine Inspector:


Manuel Cruz (Glendale)


* Joe Hart (Kingman)

Corporation Commissioner:

(2 to be chosen)


David Bradley (Tucson)

Jorge Luis Garcia (Tucson)

Renz Jennings (Phoenix)


Brenda Burns (Scottsdale)

* Gary Pierce (Mesa)

Barry Wong (Phoenix)

District 1 Senate:


Bob Donahue (Cornville)


* Steve Pierce (Prescott)

District 1 House:


Lindsay Bell (Prescott)


Noel Campbell (Prescott)

Karen Fann (Prescott)

* Andy Tobin (Paulden)

By Jon Hutchinson

Staff Reporter

YAVAPAI COUNTY - The Yavapai County ballot is set for the elections of court officials. The primary election is scheduled Aug.. 24.

The Superior Court judges in Yavapai County's six formal divisions are not opposed for re-election with one exception.

Judge William Kiger is retiring. He was originally elected to the position in 1998. The only candidate who qualified for that race is Cele' Hancock, an attorney in Prescott.

Other Superior Court positions are held by Judges David Mackey in Div.1, Presiding Judge Robert Brutinel in Div. 2, Tina Ainley in Div. 3, recently appointed Div 4 Judge Kenton Jones and Thomas Lindberg in Div. 6. All are Republicans.

In the lower courts, Verde Valley Justice of Peace Bill Lundy, a Republican is unchallenged for re-election. Shawn Evans of Cornville withdrew his candidacy and did not file.

A fierce contest will be waged for Justice of Peace in Mayer where seven candidates met the filing deadline. JP John Kennedy, first elected in 1991, will not seek another four-year term.

Three candidates will also seek the Republican nod as Justice of Peace in Seligman. Mary Hamm was appointed to the post this year, but is not seeking election.

Incumbent Bagdad/Yarnell JP Anna Mary Glaab has two other challengers this election. JP Arthur Markham is unopposed to retain the bench in the Prescott JP court.

Two candidates will seek the Republican nomination for Constable of the Verde Valley, the only contested Constable post in Yavapai County. They are Jay Parkison of Cornville and Monte Reimer of Camp Verde, both with a law enforcement background. Incumbent Ken Ellis will not seek another term.

Clerk of Court Jeanne Hicks, a Republican, is unchallenged.


Comments are not posted immediately. Submissions must adhere to our Use of Service Terms of Use agreement. Rambling or nonsensical comments may not be posted. Comment submissions may not exceed a 200 word limit, and in order for us to reasonably manage this feature we may limit excessive comment entries.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.