Kudos logo


New Music this week

Originally Published: December 6, 2016 4:15 a.m.

The Rolling Stones – Blue & Lonesome


The Rolling Stones will release Blue & Lonesome, their first studio album in more than a decade. Blue & Lonesome takes the band back to their roots and the passion for blues music which has always been at the heart and soul of The Rolling Stones.

The album was produced by Don Was and The Glimmer Twins and was recorded over the course of just three days. The band’s approach to the album was that it should be spontaneous and played live in the studio without overdubs. The band: Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, and Ronnie Wood was joined by long-time touring sidemen Darryl Jones (bass), Chuck Leavell (keyboards) and Matt Clifford (keyboards) and, for two of the twelve tracks, by old friend Eric Clapton.

Tracks include: Just Your Fool, Commit A Crime, Blue And Lonesome, All Of Your Love, I Gotta Go, Everybody Knows About My Good Thing, Ride ‘Em On Down, Hate To See You Go, Hoo Doo Blues, Little Rain, Just Like I Treat You, I Can’t Quit You Baby.

Celtic Woman – Voices Of Angels

Celtic Woman - Emerald

Celtic Woman has a remarkable twelve-year legacy of introducing the most talented singers and musicians from Ireland onto the world stage. Voices Of Angels showcases the angelic voices of Susan McFadden, Mairead Carlin, Eabha McMahon and introduces the breathtaking new Celtic violinist Tara McNeill.

The Voices Of Angels album contains some of the most popular songs from the Celtic Woman repertoire along with several previously unrecorded tracks, all with stunning new orchestral arrangements recorded with the 72-piece Orchestra of Ireland.

Tracks include: My Heart Will Go On, Isle of Hope, Isle of Tears, As She Moved Through The Fair, Mo Ghile Mear (My Gallant Star), Ave Maria, For The Love of A Princess, Time To Say Goodbye, Dúlaman, Walk Beside Me, O, America!, A Time For Us, Across The World, Téir Abhaile Riú, Amazing Grace, You Raise Me Up, Joy To The World, Silent Night, Once in Royal David’s City.

Animals as Leaders – The Madness Of Many

Sumerian Records

Extremely “anticipated” doesn’t even begin to describe feelings of Animals as Leaders fans regarding the bands fourth studio album, “The Madness Of Many.” The band is renowned for its ability to push music in ways that it has never been heard before while bringing some of the finest virtuoso playing humanly possible. “There’s been a lot of things that we’ve been experimenting with - there’s a lot more nylon[-string]... It’s the most collaborative record that we’ve done, so it’s pretty awesome. We’ve learned over the years how each other works best, and it’s taken that time to make an album that sounds the most like what we sound like as musicians. It sounds different to our previous stuff, but it’s definitely what we want to be hearing and what we want to be playing.”

Tracks include: Arithmophobia, Ectogenesis, Cognitive Contortions, Inner Assassins, Private Visions of the World, Backpfeifengesicht, Transcentience, The Glass Bridge, The Brain Dance, Apeirophobia.

Riverside – Eye Of The Soundscape

Inside Out Music

Eye of the Soundscape is the seventh album by Polish progressive rock band Riverside.

The album is a collection of older experimental instrumental pieces in addition to four new tracks (“Where the River Flows”, “Shine”, “Sleepwalkers” and “Eye of the Soundscape”).

It is the only posthumous album to feature guitarist Piotr Grudziński after his death on Feb. 21.

The album compiles all the band’s special instrumental tracks previously used as bonus material for the “Shrine Of New Generation Slaves” and “Love, Fear and the Time Machine” albums, alongside rare cuts as well as four new songs into a massive playing time of more than100 minutes.

The release features 13 experimental and highly atmospheric compositions, which showcase the band’s ambient electronic side.

Tracks include: Where the River Flows, Shine, Rapid Eye Movement, Night Session - Parts One and Two, Sleepwalkers, Rainbow Trip, Heavenland, Return, Aether, Machines, Promise, Eye of the Soundscape.