Sun, Aug. 18

Camp Verde school board results still up in the air<br><i>VAnDyke, Dieffenbach BC school board winners

Staff photo by Carol Keefer

As of Thursday, longtime resident and Osco Pharmacist Bob Simbric was still waiting to hear if he was the official write-in winner in the Camp Verde School board race.

VanDyke is a steady volunteer at the K-8 school and wife of Montezuma-Rimrock Fire Chief Mike VanDyke.

In the Camp Verde Unified School District board race, incumbents John Bassous and Linda MacPhee won the two, two-year seats. Each had been appointed to the board filling out others' terms; this was their first election go-around. Both ran unopposed.

Three Camp Verde candidates sought the remaining two, four-year seat vacancies. One was officially on the ballot; two were write-in candidates.

Well-known town employee, newcomer Wendy Escoffier, whose name was on the ballot, won taking 91 percent of the vote.

"I'm anxious and excited about serving the community on the school board," Escoffier said following Tuesday's election. "I know how important it is to prepare our students for the real world."

Of the two write-in candidates, Bob Simbric and Frank Blaire, going after one of the remaining four-year seats, preliminary results indicate Simbric as winner. Yavapai County Elections Director Sharon Keene-Wright cautioned Thursday though that the results were yet "very preliminary" as "some early ballots have not yet been counted."

"I'm looking forward to serving if elected," Simbric commented adding, "It's a real critical time in education."

He says he wants to be there to support education within the community where he has lived for 28 years. Simbric served on the governing board 16 years although not in the past six years. Newcomer Blaire had attempted to withdraw from the race when Simbric entered the race, but it was too late according to elections' officials.

The unofficial count for CV school board: Escoffier, 1857; MacPhee, 1627; Bassous, 1404; Simbric (write-in), 141; and Blaire (write-in), 27.

Incoming school board members start their terms Jan. 1.