Thu, Feb. 20

Two winners; one tie in Y-A Nation council race

Thomas Beauty (127 votes) and David Kwail (102) won two of three vacant Yavapai-Apache Nation's council seats, according to the unofficial results released by Election Board Chief Judge Robin Hazelwood.

The two incumbents, Lottie Sylvia Wilson and Theodore (Ted) Smith, Sr., unofficially tied with 91 votes each. That will require a run-off election in order to fill the third remaining seat.

The council election took place on Sept. 21.

Hazelwood said she anticipates the run-off election will occur on Oct. 26, and that the winner would likely be seated the following Thursday. Beauty and Kwail should be sworn in next week, Oct. 3.

Hazelwood said that Saturday's election brought out more voters than the previous year.

Each council seat is for a three-year term.

Council candidates included: Thomas Beauty (Yavapai-Apache Tourism), Billy Garner, Stanley Jackson (Tribal Gaming Board chairman), David Kwail (former councilman/chair), Donna Nightpipe, Everette Randall, Maureen Romero (former council member), Theodore Smith, Sr. (incumbent), Celestina Valles, Jerry Whagado (Tribal Gaming Board), Lottie Sylvia Wilson (incumbent) and Jane Winiecki.

The current nine-member council consists of: Chairman Aaron Russell, Vice Chair Fred Sanchez, Norman Smith, Ted Smith, Sr., Buddy Rocha, Sr., Lottie Sylvia Wilson, Darlene Rubio, Lorna Hazelwood and Harry Hood. Rubio's term limits are expiring, so she's stepping down. Wilson and Smith were seeking re-election.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event