Sun, Dec. 08

Randall returns to Y-A council

Yavapai-Apache Nation elections official Robin Hazelwood said 367 voters out of 1,109 registered cast ballots in Saturday’s election.

That number included absenteeism ballots.

Vincent Randall, a former chairman, was the top vote getter with 96 votes followed by Dennis Sine (81) and Darlene Rubio (72), according to Monday’s unofficial results. The vote is not certified until late Tuesday afternoon.

There were three vacant council seats — Norman Smith, who could not run again having served two consecutive terms and Harry Hood and Buddy Rocha, Sr. Both Hood and Rocha opted for a second term go-round, but neither incumbent made the cut.

Out of 19 candidates running, the remaining 16 not elected received less than 70 votes each, said Hazelwood. She said the lowest number was Samuel Rabino with only 10 votes.

Hazelwood said she expects all three new council members to be sworn in during a regular council session on Oct. 9 following the 10-day window of opportunity to challenge the vote.

Hazelwood said there will be another election in November to fill yet another empty council seat vacated by Sylvia Wilson. Wilson was recently removed from office due to a pending court case, according to Kim Secakuku, public relations liaison.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event