Wed, Feb. 26

Two school board races in Verde Valley<br><i>Other open seats appointed by county supervisors</i>

Only two school district governing boards in the entire Verde Valley are being contested. The Yavapai County Board of Supervisors has appointed all other open seats.

The Mingus Union High School District Governing Board has three seats up for election. Three incumbents and one challenger are vying for those seats.

Incumbents Leland Wieweck, Thomas Parmarter and Bryan Detwiler are all running for reelection. Scott Stokes is seeking to replace one of the incumbents on the board.

Camp Verde Unified School District has three open seats. Two incumbents and two challengers are running for those spots on the governing board.

Incumbents Andy Ayers and Linda MacPhee both hope to remain on the board. John Bassous, an incumbent, is not seeking reelection.

Challengers Deborah Barber and Margaret Johnson both hope to join the board following the Nov. 2 general election.

All other district governing board elections in the Verde Valley have been settled by the Yavapai County Board of Supervisors. Because these boards have the same number of open seats as candidates, state law allows the county supervisors to essentially cancel the election and appoint the candidates directly to their respective boards. That way, school districts save the cost of paying the county for running the election, and candidates avoid the cost of campaigning.

If a school district has an open school board position with no candidate, the county superintendent of schools must advertise the open position following the election.

According to Rita Leyva, chief deputy county superintendent, Yavapai County has a total of 28 people appointed this year by the supervisors to school governing boards. She said the county has more unopposed governing board seats this year than ever before.

Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School District had one person, Jane Ewers Phillips, appointed to a four-year term.

Two incumbents, Susan Foley and Randall W. Garrison, were appointed by the board of supervisors to serve four-year terms on the Cottonwood-Oak Creek School District Governing Board.

Allen Elfman, Benjamin Miller and Bobbie Surber were all appointed by the supervisors to four-year-terms on the Sedona-Oak Creek Governing Board. Paul Street, county superintendent, had appointed Miller to the board, to replace Kathy McMahan who resigned from the board for health reasons. Elfman was appointed by the board of supervisors and will replace Becky O'Banion, current president of the governing board, who will retire following her current term.

Hardy Gareld, Carl Layman and W.O. "Bill" Palmer were all appointed by the supervisors to the Beaver Creek governing board.

The Valley Academy of Career and Technology Education won't see any new faces on its governing board. The supervisors appointed Pearl J. Lansing and Mike Westcott, both running unopposed, to new four-year terms.

Herald S. Harrington, incumbent for District 5 of the Yavapai College board, has been appointed to a six-year term.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event