Thu, Feb. 20

Fullmer re-elected as Y-A chairman

Staff photo by Carol Keefer

NEWLY elected Y-A Nation officials are (from left): Chairman Jamie Fullmer and council members Billy Garner, Delores Plunkett, and Miriam Haddo. Missing is Dennis Sine (vice chair).

Fullmer won 250 votes in Saturday's General Election while David Kwail, his opponent, came in with 172 votes. This will be Fullmer's second term as chair. He had previously been elected for a partial term when Aaron Russell resigned last year.

Dennis Sine with 217 votes will be the new vice chairman, winning over Norman Smith (194). He will replace Fred Sanchez, who was not eligible to run this time because of restrictions in the Nation's election laws. Sanchez had served two consecutive terms and must now sit out one year before becoming eligible to run again.

Miriam Haddo (166), Delores Plunkett (155) and Billy Garner (144) had the highest votes in the council race. Haddo will assume a three-year term held by Ted Smith Sr.; Plunkett, a two-year term; and Garner, a one-year term replacing Sine and Kwail, who had to give up their council seats to run in the Sept. 18 election.

Others seeking council seats included: Frieda Eswonia (108), Beverly Joanne Grey (67), Harry Hood (135), Myron Johnson (118), Donna Nightpipe (63), Roberta Pavatea (51), and Buddy Rocha Sr. (126).

Four other council members remain seated: Earl Beauty, Thomas Beauty, Darlene Rubio and Vincent Randall.

Fullmer said he was thrilled to be able to continue the goals he and others started, including plans for additional housing, business development, and social and health matters. A big advocate for children, he said he hopes to raise the bar on educational issues.

"I believe we have strong group with the new council. I think they will be committed to major decisions with an honest approach," he said.

Elections official Robin Hazelwood indicated that Saturday's voter turnout was higher than usual.

"We had a total of 439 voters out of 1,158 registered, the highest number we've had since I've been on board," she said.

The ballots were certified on Monday but that there remains a 10-day window for election challenges. If there are no problems, Hazelwood said that the swearing-in ceremony takes place Oct. 7 during a regular Y-A Nation council meeting.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event