Thu, April 09

Unofficial Primary Election results
Simon, Munsil claim primary wins Tuesday

In races of interest in the Verde Valley and statewide Tuesday night, Sedona's Ellen Simon was an easy winner in the Congressional District 1 Democratic Primary.

Simon collected 18,503 of 35,019 total votes cast to claim an easy victory and the right to face off against GOP incumbent Rick Renzi in November.

Simon's nearest challenger was Susan Friedman, who received only 6,407 votes. Likewise, Simon was an easy winner in Yavapai County, earning 55 percent of the ballots cast.

In the Arizona Republican gubernatorial primary, Len Munsil defeated Don Goldwater and will face Democratic incumbent Janet Napolitano in November. Overall, Munsil received 127,143 votes compared to 104,830 for Goldwater. Munsil was the favorite of Yavapai County voters by a 9,240-6,617 margin.

In the race for the Republican nomination for the District 1 State Senate seat being vacated by Prescott's Ken Bennett, Tom O'Halleran of the Village of Oak Creek narrowly edged Camp Verde's William Stoll by a 9,108-8,018 margin. In Yavapai County, O'Halleran enjoyed a even more narrow 407-vote advantage.

In the race for the District 1 Arizona House of Representatives, incumbent Lucy Mason was the top vote getter with 10,480 votes. Andy Tobin of Prescott showed a 123-vote advantage over Bryan Detwiler of Cottonwood, 5,864 to 5,741. Noel Campbell finished fourth with 4,645 votes.

Tobin's advantage over Detwiler was a scant 34-votes in Yavapai County and 89 votes in Coconino County.

Incumbent Jeanne Hicks was re-elected to the office of clerk of the Superior Court with 13,124 votes. Challenger Wayne Meddaugh received 3,039 votes.

Results will be updated as numbers become official.

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event