Sat, Dec. 07

Jacque Weems new president of Sedona Verde Valley Association of Realtors
'Be an ambassador for the community in which you serve'

Jacque Weems

Jacque Weems

In a festive Hawaiian setting, complete with leis, grass skirts, sand, shells, shimmering metallic palm trees and live beta fish in centerpiece bowls, Jacque Weems of Russ Lyon Realty of Sedona assumed the presidency of the Sedona Verde Valley Association of Realtors.

Joining Weems as 2008 SVVAR officers are:

• President Elect Michael McShane, Russ Lyon Realty.

• Vice President Beth Adams, Desert 2 Mountain Realty.

• Secretary/Treasurer Carol Anne Warren, Professional Realty Group.

Other members of the 2008 board of directors are:

• SVVAR Past President Holly Mabery, Coldwell Banker/Mabery.

• Nancy Futral, Realty Experts.

• Del Ray Hammons, Hammons Realty.

• Tahona Daluz, Coldwell Banker/Mabery.

• Sami Lyn Story, Coldwell Banker First Affiliate.

• Maureen Nealon, Selna & Associates.

• Morrey Shifman, Prudential Foothills.

• State director Pam Fazzini, Russ Lyon Realty.

• SVVAR Affiliate director Jamie Banks, LandAmerica.

The theme of the annual banquet, where the installation of SVVAR's new leadership took place, was Ha'aheo, the Hawaiian word for "pride in whatever we do." Weems had chosen the Hawaiian theme for the evening because of her admiration for the Hawaiian people and reflected its message of pride in her acceptance speech.

"Be an ambassador for the community in which you serve," she said. "Wherever you go spread the word that this area of the world is beautiful and rich with history, scenery, entertainment, opportunity and goodness. Have pride in your product (Sedona/Verde Valley) and show it.... Have pride in your service. Have pride in your association and participate in its future guidance."

2007 SVVAR Award Recipients

Also honored during the banquet were the association's 2007 award recipients.

Holly Mabery (Coldwell Banker Mabery) and Ron Volkman (Russ Lyon Realty) were both given the Realtor of the Year Award, and Pam Bayles (National Bank) received the Affiliate of the Year Award. This is the third time Volkman received the Realtor of the Year Award. The first time was in 1988 and again in 1995.

Other award winners were:

• Pat Jegge (Coldwell Banker First Affiliate), who received the Distinguished Service Award.

• Marc Epplenhill (Professional Realty Group), recipient of the Horizon Award, given to the most promising young Realtor.

• Holly Mabery, who was honored with the Ty Strout Vision Award. This award recognizes an Arizona Realtor who best exemplifies the Arizona Association of Realtors' (AAR) vision for the best prepared real estate practitioner with the highest standards.

Jo and Kerry Hannifan of Hannifan Real Estate and Pat Wood of Russ Lyon Realty all received Life Member Awards.

The Sedona Verde Valley Association of Realtors also was recognized that evening. It received an award from AAR Director of Government Programs Megan Cummings for the most money raised for political action efforts by a large Realtor board. Fifty one percent of SVVAR's 850 members contributed to the cause this year.

Setting the tone for the evening were the Halau Hula Napuaokalei'ilima (Hawaiian) Dancers of Cottonwood and keynote speaker Todd Gillenwater, broker of Russ Lyon Realty of Sedona.

"The level of commitment we honor here tonight does not come easy, does not just happen. It requires deliberate action and sacrifice," said Gillenwater. "It requires time, the most precious gift any of us can give."

Cottonwood Mayor Diane Jones, Sedona Mayor Pud Colquitt, Camp Verde Mayor Tony Gioia and Ty Strout, executive director of the Arizona Association of Realtors were also present to honor the new board members and award recipients.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event