Sun, Dec. 15

Cottonwood spring election already attracting candidates

The City of Cottonwood's primary election will take place on March 10, 2009 for the selection of council members. Four expiring terms are to be elected.

The current terms held by council members James Chapman, Tim Elinski, Linda Norman, and Karen Pfeifer (who currently serves as the Vice Mayor) expire the end of May 2009 and are the seats that are to be elected.

When Ron Hollis resigned his council seat, three and a half years remained on the term. Rather than to appoint a replacement for that period, the council agreed to appoint Chapman to serve until the upcoming election. The council decided then to put the seat up for election for the two years remaining before the four-year term would have normally expired.

Paperwork became available for candidates Nov. 12 and must be returned to city hall by Dec. 10.

So far, three of the council members with expiring terms have picked up election packets but none have been returned so far, assuring a place on the March 10 ballot.

Those with the candidate filing paperwork include Karen Pfeifer, Linda Norman, Tim Elinski and former mayor Ruben Jauregui.

In order to vote in the primary election you must be registered to vote by Feb. 9, 2009. The last day to vote early is March 6, 2009.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event