Mon, July 22

School board elections Nov. 2
Must fill out paperwork before receiving petitions

VERDE VALLEY - Governing board seats for all public school districts and Yavapai College will be up for election during the Nov. 2 general election. Now is the time to act for anyone interested in running for a local school board seat.

Candidates must fill out nomination paperwork before receiving their petitions. Packets are available now from the Yavapai County School Superintendent's Office at 1015 Fair St., Room 324, in Prescott. The first date to file petitions is July 5, and the last date to file is Aug. 4.

Clarkdale-Jerome SD #3 will have four of five seats open. The terms of Anthony Lozano, Rebecca O'Banion (president), Dale Williams and Jill Zaske will expire at the end of 2010. When district voters approved expanding the board from three members to five, County Superintendent Tim Carter had to appoint two new members, O'Banion and Zaske.

The top two vote getters will serve four-year terms, and the next two will serve two-year terms. Then, during the next election cycle in 2012, the board will be on a regular rotation of open seats.

Mingus Union High School District #4 will have two of its five seats up for election. The terms of Andrew Groseta and James Ledbetter will expire.

Cottonwood-Oak Creek SD #6 has three of five seats coming up for election. Jason Finger, Janice Rollins and Lori Simmons all have expiring terms.

Camp Verde USD #28 has two of five seats coming open. Judy Gilbert and Andrea Wrubel currently hold those seats.

Beaver Creek SD #26 will see seats held by Norma Dieffenbach and Sheila Van Dyke up for election for four-year terms. A third seat, vacated by W.O. Palmer and to be filled temporarily by appointment, will be up for a two-year term. Beaver Creek is a five-member board.

Sedona-Oak Creek JUSD #9 has two of five board seats open for election. Carolyn Huggins and Karen McClelland currently hold those seats.

The Valley Academy for Career & Technology Education #01 has three of its five seats coming open. The terms of Steve Dockray (president), Houston Moore and Leland Wieweck are all up for election.

Yavapai College has one of five seats open. That seat is held by Herald Harrington.