Fri, May 24

Clarkdale and Jerome council ballots set
Jerome Mayor Jay Kinsella not seeking re-election

Current Jerome Mayor Jay Kinsella will not seek re-election.

Current Jerome Mayor Jay Kinsella will not seek re-election.

VERDE VALLEY - The ballots for the March 13 primary election in Jerome and Clarkdale are set. Jerome will elect five council members. Clarkdale will elect two council members and a mayor.

Every two years, Jerome elects a full slate of five council members. Traditionally, the candidate who receives the most votes is elected by the new council as mayor.

Current Jerome Mayor Jay Kinsella will not seek re-election. That leaves only two incumbents on the five-seat council running for another term. Lew Courier and Anne Bassett will both seek reelection.

Two incumbents on the Jerome council were appointed after the early October resignations of Vice Mayor Christine Barag and councilwoman Lisa Rappaport. Nikki Check and Bill Phinney were appointed to those open seats, and both are on the ballot for the primary election.

Randall Hunt is the fifth candidate on the ballot. So Jerome has five candidates for five open seats.

Kinsella said he informed the residents of Jerome in the December newsletter of his decision not to run again for council.

"It's been an absolute honor and privilege," he said. "Jerome has been great for me."

Kinsella was first elected as mayor in 1998. In all, he has served 10 years on the Jerome council, with eight of those years as mayor.

"I'm still here to help out," Kinsella said. "But it's time for me to have a little 'at ease' time."

Also on the Jerome ballot will be the expenditure limitation question, more commonly known as Home Rule.

On the Clarkdale ballot, current mayor Doug Von Gausig will run unopposed for re-election. As with the council seats, the mayor is elected to a four-year term in Clarkdale.

Clarkdale has two council seats up for election with three candidates for those seats.

Incumbents councilwoman Pat Williams and Vice Mayor Richard Dehnert are both on the ballot. Challenger Anita Simgen is also seeking one of the two open seats.

The 2012 General Plan for the Town of Clarkdale also will be on the ballot.

The last day to register to vote in Yavapai County will be Feb. 13. Early ballots are set go out Feb. 16, and voting begins as soon as registered voters receive their ballots.

Ballots are accepted until 7 p.m. on Election Day.