Tue, Oct. 15

Candidates file for new Legislative District 6

The newly formed Arizona Legislative District 6, which was created in January by the redistricting commission, comprises parts of Yavapai, Coconino, Navajo and Gila counties. Because it is a new district, from which a state senator and two state representatives will be elected, no incumbents are running.

The results of the 2010 U. S. Census created 30 legislative districts in Arizona.

Filings for State Senate seats and State Representative seats, as of the May 30, the last day to file, include two candidates, one Republican and one Democratic for the one available state senate seat. The filings also include four candidates for two available state house seats, two Republican and two Democratic.

In the race for State Senate in Legislative District 6, Democrat Tom Chabin of Flagstaff filed May 17. Republican Chester Crandell of Heber filed May 30.

State Representative candidates include Democrats Doug Ballard of Parks and Angela LeFevre of Sedona. Ballard filed May 29, and LeFevre also filed May 29.

Republican candidates filing for State Representative are Brenda Barton of Safford and Bob Thorpe of Flagstaff. Barton filed May 30, as did Thorpe.

The primary election is Aug. 28, and the last day for voter registration is July 30.

The general election is Nov. 6, and the last day for voter registration will be Oct. 9.

-- Philip Wright

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event