Fri, Jan. 17

Yavapai County Education Foundation makes plans for coming year

Focusing upon increasing support for qualified teachers and schools in Yavapai County, the Yavapai County Education Foundation during its September board meeting set some goals for the coming academic year.

Among those goals were determining that no less than $12,000 would be available for classroom and school grants during the coming year. Also, the board decided to give no less than $2,500 for Prospective Teacher Scholarships-five grants at $500 each-to students completing education degrees at accredited colleges or universities.

A major goal is that of increasing participation in the annual Teacher-of-the-Year Awards Program, wherein outstanding teachers from schools throughout the county are recognized for meritorious achievement. It will be the 19th year the YCEF will honor county teachers. The Awards Banquet is scheduled for May 10, 2013, at the Prescott Resort.

The board elected officers for the coming year. Named were Tim Wiederaenders, Prescott, president; Mariela Bean, Prescott Valley, vice president; and Tim Carter, Prescott, secretary.

Named to the board for another two years were Dr. Susan Johnstad, Prescott Valley; and Tony Shaw, Prescott.

Other board members are Tom Benson, Prescott; Cindy Daniels, Chino Valley; Kathleen Fleenor, Clarkdale; Dr. Mary Ellen Halvorson, Prescott; Dr. Ron Minnich, Chino Valley; Richard Moore, Prescott Valley; Ray Newton, Prescott; Bill Price, Prescott; Dr. Henry Schmitt, Prescott Valley; and Dr. Walter Vannette, Cornville.

The YCEF is a non-profit corporation which has as its mission the promotion of educational activities in public, charter and private schools through providing funds to support educationally related programs and projects.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event