Thu, Nov. 21

DDB student wins MATForce poster contest

MATFORCE congratulates poster contest grand prize-winner Clay Bowers, a 6-year-old student from Dr. Daniel Bright Elementary School in Cottonwood.

MATFORCE congratulates poster contest grand prize-winner Clay Bowers, a 6-year-old student from Dr. Daniel Bright Elementary School in Cottonwood.

MATFORCE announces two Youth Poster Contest grand prize winners: Clay Bowers, a 6-year-old student from Dr. Daniel Bright Elementary School in Cottonwood and Amy Owings, a 17-year-old student from Prescott High School in Prescott. MATFORCE's Youth Poster Contest is an annual event held to raise awareness among youth about the risks of drug and alcohol abuse.

Each of the grand prize winning posters gives a powerful message. Clay Bowers' poster reads "Drugs are scary." Amy Owings' message is "Don't horse around with drugs." Clay won an iPad and Amy won a $500 cash award. These posters will be featured on MATFORCE substance abuse awareness materials throughout 2013.

Over 650 students from throughout Yavapai County participated in the contest. The Yavapai County Sheriff's Office assists in promoting this contest each year. Deputy Scott Reed said, "With so many outstanding posters, it was difficult to choose the winners. What impresses me the most is that so many students express such a strong opinion against the abuse of drugs or alcohol. They are to be commended."

First place winners were selected in each age category and winners received a $25 gift card. First place awards went to: Age 5/6 Amarissa Bellows, Model Creek School, Yarnell; Age 7/8 Jade Noel Ditto, Miller Valley Elementary School, Prescott; Age 9/10 Katelyn Woods, Mountain View Elementary School, Prescott Valley; Age 11/12 Nicole Babbitt, Granville Elementary School, Prescott Valley; Age 13/14 Lindsay Marrujo, Mile High Middle School, Prescott; Age 15/16 Michelle Galvez, Red Rock High School, Sedona; Age 17/18 Aubrey Wilson, Mingus Union High School, Cottonwood.

With so many outstanding posters submitted, MATFORCE also commends honorable mention winners: Abia Judd Elementary School, Prescott - Milap Owensand, Tessa Martinez; Bagdad Elementary School, Bagdad - Megan Hulse and Rein Lewis: Bagdad High School, Bagdad - Mary Renee Maez and Micoya Bennet; Beaver Creek Elementary School, Rimrock - Mariel Cuevas; Boys and Girls Club of Northern Arizona - Cierra Fanning and Stephanie Garcia; Bradshaw Mountain Middle School, Dewey - Aleina Sansky; Clarkdale Jerome Elementary School, Clarkdale - Lindsey Jones; Cottonwood Middle School, Cottonwood - Chase Paquin, Dakota Spear, Keagan Schults, Lilly Rodriguez, Maresa Davila, Sienna Duenas, Trevor Galloway, Xavier Canez and Valerie Brenes; Franklin Phonetic School, Prescott Valley - Monica Lau; Glassford Hill Middle School, Prescott Valley - Abbey Hamilton, Airam Valenzuela, Andrew Moreno, C. Perry, Elssy Estrada, Felicia Saenz, Hayden Ruiz, Isaac Rios, Jacob Batty, Joshua Castro-Saravia, Kenneth Kirkland, Lawrence Rogers, Luis Garcia, Luke Schaetzle, Nathan Metcalf, Skyla Monreal, Tyler Hay and Yulisa Sotelo; Granville Elementary School, Prescott Valley - Hayden Scoplitte, Julie Anna Clauss and Mackenzie Killinger; Hillside Elementary School, Bagdad - Hannah Mills, Kiki Benavidez and William Webster; Miller Valley Elementary School, Prescott - Addie Wilson, Brian Vera Reyes, Emma Layne Burke, Jacki Diaz Sanchez, Jazlyn Rice and Kylee Fanty; Mingus Mountain Academy, Prescott Valley - Aspen F., Elliana I., Jena D., Speranza, Tayler Diane S. and Toryana D.; Model Creek School, Yarnell - Elizabeth Freeland; Mountain View Preparatory, Cottonwood - Ella Behlow; Prescott High School, Prescott - Alexander Beazer, Andre Uncapher, Anthony Murillo, Quinton Kreyling and Sarah Rice; and Seligman Middle School, Seligman - Jerred Holtz.

Grand prize and first place winning posters can be viewed at Beginning in June, all winning posters will be displayed throughout Yavapai County in the MATFORCE Youth Poster Contest Road Show. Watch for the upcoming display schedule.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event