Sun, Dec. 08

County schools get financial boost thanks to Education Foundation

PRESCOTT -- Teachers and schools in 14 different communities scattered across Yavapai County received grants totaling a cumulative $21,740.10 to support educational programs. The grants came from the Yavapai County Education Foundation.

In announcing grant recipients, Tim Wiederaenders, YCEF president said, "Given the diminished budgets so many teachers and schools face this year, we're gratified our private educational foundation can contribute funds for classroom projects as well as school projects."

In all, 36 "Individual Classroom Teacher Grants" of up to $500 each were given to educators to support projects at schools in Bagdad, Black Canyon City, Camp Verde, Chino Valley, Clarkdale-Jerome, Congress, Cornville, Cottonwood, Humboldt, Prescott, Prescott Valley, Beaver Creek, Sedona, and Seligman.

Five "Building, District or School Matching Grants" of $1,000 each, for a total of $5,000, went to five schools in three communities:  Camp Verde, Chino Valley and Prescott.

Wiederaenders praised the generosity of corporations, businesses and individuals who had contributed to the YCEF during the past year.

"Because so many people and groups increased their charitable giving this past year, the YCEF was able to increase its grants to teachers and schools by $5,000 more than we gave in 2013," he said.

Another major YCEF project will be sponsorship of the annual Yavapai County Teacher-of-the-Year recognition dinner, when outstanding teachers from throughout the county are honored for their exceptional efforts.

That dinner is scheduled for April 24, 2015 at the Prescott Resort.

Wiederaenders emphasized that the YCEF is a non-profit, non-governmental organization "...whose sole mission is to promote and provide support for public, charter and private schools and teachers in Yavapai County."

The organization is administered by unpaid volunteers representative of the entire county.

Those wishing to help further the mission of the YCEF may contribute by sending donations to the YCEF, 2970 Centerpointe East Drive, Prescott, AZ  86301 or by visiting .

2014-2015 Individual Classroom Teacher Grant Recipients

Vicki Bleak, American Heritage Academy- Camp Verde, Tiffany Boehle, Prescott High School , Jennifer Bonner, Bagdad High School , Lynn Brown, Coyote Springs Elementary School , Mary Bruhn, Humboldt Elementary School, Tracie Castro, Bagdad Elementary School , Rachel Chunglo, Miller Valley Elementary School , Cheryl Franklin, Seligman Elementary School , Kendal Healey, Acorn Montessori Charter School, Sara Hodges, Acorn Montessori Charter School, Jesse Kennen, Oak Creek School , Gary Lagoy,, Rimrock Public High School, Alynn Lassiter, Lincoln Elementary School, Phil Luukkonen, Canyon View Preparatory, Laurie Marley, Del Rio Elementary School; Nancy McKeehan, Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary School, Cheryl Middleton, Congress Elementary School

Rachel Miller, American Heritage Academy- Cottonwood, Emily Morse, Congress Elementary School , Kristi Mulcaire, Camp Verde High School , Linda Neville, Acorn Montessori Charter School,  Sandra Palm, Chino Valley High School, Al Parnell, Heritage Middle School, Tarrah Radell, Acorn Montessori Charter School, Kelli Rhoda, Mountain View Preparatory , Susan Romney, Mingus Springs Charter School, Shaun Rose, Bagdad High School, Jessica Smith, Canon Elementary School, Julie Smith, Cottonwood Elementary School , Kaisa Svard, Bagdad High School, Janna White, Camp Verde Elementary School, Bonnie Winters, Tri-City College Prep High School, Jennifer Woods, Mountain Institute JTED , Theresa Zaun, West Sedona Elementary School

2014-2015 Building, District or School Matching Grant Recipients

Rachel Davis, Heritage Middle School; Debra Gearhart-Golden, Del Rio Elementary; Dawn Klaiber, La Tierra Community School; Eric Klimt, Northpoint Expeditionary Learning Academy; Darrell White, American Heritage Academy- Camp Verde

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event