Thu, April 09

Kirkpatrick keeps Dist. 1 seat

ARIZONA -- Arizona District One Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick is declaring victory over Andy Tobin in one of the most costly Congressional races in Arizona. Kirkpatrick opened a 10,000 vote gap over Andy Tobin to keep her Congressional seat. Kirkpatrick's lead in the final hours by 53 percent to 46 percent.

The two major parties have waged an ongoing battle to retain or wrest control of the vast rural congressional district. The district has swung back and forth between Republican and Democratic over the years. Kirkpatrick has both won and lost election in the District.

Tobin of Prescott stepped down as Arizona House Speaker to challenge the Democrat on her home turf in the same way that Paul Gosar abandoned District 1 in favor of the more conservative District 4 on the west side of the state.

In a statement Wednesday morning, Kirkpatrick praised voters. "I am deeply honored that the voters of Arizona's First Congressional District have asked me to continue representing them. Now, let's get back to work."

The First District spans all or part of eight Arizona counties.

Congressional Dist. Four

Republican Congressman Paul Gosar, easily outpaced both his Democratic opponent Mikel Weisser and Libertarian Chris Rike to be re-elected. Gosar carried 70% or 101,671 votes of the conservative west congressional District Four which includes Yavapai, Coconino and part of La Paz counties. Weisser 37,391 or 26% and Rike 5,967 or 4% of the vote count.

Arizona House Dist. 4

Karen Fann was easily re-elected along with Noel Campbell for the State Senate 1st District, basically Yavapai County less the Verde Valley voters. Fann's former Arizona Housemate Andy Tobin bailed out of the state house district to run for the First Congressional District against Ann Kirkpatrick. Fann was the favorite with 41.3% with 41,500 votes followed by Campbell's 38.7% or 38,860. Democrat Frank Cuccia, carried 19% of the vote with 19,942 votes.

Dist. 4 State Senator Republican Steve Pierce was not challenged and was re-elected.

Arizona State House Dist. 6

Brenda Barton and Bob Thorpe were easily re-elected to their State House seats for Legislative District Six. The lone Democrat Lanny Morrison garnered no more than 29% of the vote (22,169) compared with Bob Thorp at 35% (27,036) and Brenda Barton at 36% (27,273).

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event