Sun, April 05

Ballot finalized for Cottonwood city election

COTTONWOOD -- Cottonwood's Council election this year promises to be both interesting and offer a lot of new faces.

Four council members' terms expire this year.

Those terms include Mayor Diane Joens, and council members Terence Pratt, Ruben Jauregui and Jesse Dowling.

A total of eight candidates filed the required paperwork by 5 p.m. June 1 to be listed on the ballot this fall.

Dowling has moved to Clarkdale and so does not qualify for the ballot. Cottonwood Mayor Joens is running for Yavapai Supervisor District 3.

Terence Pratt is running for Mayor, not council, and so Ruben Jauregui is the only incumbent seeking re-election.

There are three candidates who qualified to run for mayor. In addition to Terence Pratt, Tim Elinski filed nominating petitions as well as Holly Grigaitis.

There are five candidates competing for three council seats. Those include incumbent Ruben Jaregui, as well as Deb Althouse, Tosca Henry, Al Hilberger and Jackie Nairn.

The city primary is scheduled Tuesday, Aug. 30.

The Cottonwood General Election, if necessary, will be part of the state and county ballot, Nov. 8.

Report a Typo Contact
Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event